Sargent-Disc: Keeping your data safe


Sargent Disc, the leading UK provider of payroll, production accounting and production management software to the entertainment industries, has been awarded ISO 27001 certification, the internationally recognised information security management standard.

Dr. Laurence Sargent, Director of Sargent-Disc said ” Our certification against this exacting standard reflects the excellent systems and processes we have in place, the quality of our staff and our commitment to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of the security levels we provide to our customers giving them peace of mind their data is secure with us”

With cyber crime increasing, the certification demonstrates best practices in managing information security and is an important part of Sargent-Disc’s strategy to safeguard the confidentiality, integrity and availability of its customers’ data and information.


What is ISO 27001?

ISO 27001 (formally known as ISO/IEC 27001:2005) is a specification for an information security management system. An ISMS is a framework of policies and procedures that includes all legal, physical and technical controls involved in an organisation’s information risk management processes.

According to its documentation, ISO 27001 was developed to “provide a model for establishing, implementing, operating, monitoring, reviewing, maintaining and improving an information security management system.”

ISO 27001 uses a topdown, risk-based approach and is technology-neutral. The specification includes details for documentation, management responsibility, internal audits, continual improvement, and corrective and preventive action. The standard requires cooperation among all sections of an organisation.

The 27001 standard provides a checklist of controls that should be considered in the accompanying code of practice, ISO/IEC 27002:2005. This second standard describes a comprehensive set of information security control objectives and a set of generally accepted good practice security controls.


ISO 27002 contains 12 main sections:

1. Risk assessment

2. Security policy

3. Organization of information security

4. Asset management

5. Human resources security

6. Physical and environmental security

7. Communications and operations management

8. Access control

9. Information systems acquisition, development and maintenance

10. Information security incident management

11. Business continuity management

12. Compliance


Organisations are required to apply these controls appropriately in line with their specific risks. Third-party accredited certification is recommended for ISO 27001 conformance.

For more information about the ISO 27001:2013 certification and how Sargent-Disc are striving to adhere to these standards, contact us at

Contact Us

Send us an email and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.

Not readable? Change text.